News Releases | December 8, 2023

2024 Annual Meeting and Election of Directors

An election for three places on the Board of Directors is scheduled on April 8, 2024, in conjunction with the UFCU Annual Meeting.

Chair of the Board Cale McDowell, JD appointed a Governance/Nominating Committee chaired by Linus Akanoh, Jr. The Committee nominated the following Members to serve as UFCU Directors for three-year terms: Laura Kilcrease, Molly Beth Malcolm, EdD, and John Martin. UFCU bylaws permit other nominations by petition if signed by 500 qualified Members and, together with a statement of qualifications and signed certificate stating the nominee is agreeable to such nomination and will serve if elected, is submitted to the office of the UFCU Director, Assurance Services by 5 PM Central Standard Time on January 15, 2024. A formal election will occur only if there exists one or more petition candidates. Bylaws do not allow nominations from the floor at the Annual Meeting when one or more candidates exist for each open position.

For more information about the election process, including how to obtain related documents, please contact the office of the UFCU Director, Assurance Services at (800) 252-8311 or (512) 467-8080 x 22312.

Annual Membership Meeting

Monday, April 8, 2023 | 5:30 PM
UFCU Plaza Event Center | 8303 N MoPac Expy, Austin, TX

Laura J. Kilcrease
UFCU Director – Vice Chair

UFCU Board Member Since 2015

With more than 25 years of hands-on experience in commercializing technology, Laura Kilcrease deeply understands how to cultivate new opportunities to “grow businesses around businesses” and how to deconstruct and reconstruct business models to achieve significant results. Kilcrease is the chief executive officer of Alberta Innovates, a corporation that drives innovation from discovery to deployment in Alberta, Canada. Formerly, she was the founder and managing director of Triton Ventures, L.L.C., a venture capital fund that invests in spinout and early-stage technology companies.

Kilcrease received her certification as a chartered management accountant in the U.K. and an MBA from The University of Texas at Austin. An active member of the community, Kilcrease has given her time and expertise to boards where she can influence an increase in corporate or philanthropic value.

Molly Beth Malcolm, Ed.D.
UFCU Director – Secretary

UFCU Board Member Since 2017

Throughout her career, Molly Beth Malcolm, Ed.D., has worked to improve public and higher education. As Executive Vice Chancellor of Operations and Public Affairs at Austin Community College District (ACC), Dr. Malcolm is a member of the Chancellor’s Cabinet and serves as a senior advisor. She leads the Safety and Operations Department, which includes more than a dozen campuses and centers, the ACC Police Department with 92 officers, and the Community and Public Affairs Department. She is a Professor of Practice at the University of Texas at Austin where she teaches doctoral students.

Dr. Malcolm earned a doctorate in educational administration from The University of Texas at Austin, a master’s degree in counseling from Texas A&M University-Texarkana, and an undergraduate degree from Southern Methodist University in elementary education and early childhood. Dr. Malcolm is an active member of the community and serves on boards in the Economic development, heath care and education arenas. In 2023 she was selected for the Leadership Austin Honorary Alumnus award given for “lifetime achievement of statesmanship and community service.”

John A. Martin, DBIA
UFCU Director, Past Chair

UFCU Board Member Since 2009

John Martin is a veteran of the construction industry and is currently senior vice president of Austin Commercial, LP, managing the Houston Division Unit. He has managed more than $5 billion in construction projects, including the LBJ Presidential Library, the Texas State Capitol Dome Renovation, the Baylor Football Stadium, and more than 40 projects on the University of Texas at Austin campus.

Martin earned a B.S. degree in construction management at Oklahoma State University, and he has received many awards recognizing his contributions to quality, safety, and leadership.